Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Favorite Director

Senior Member Diamond Hubber Nerd's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Favorite Director

I am just a novice when it comes to world cinema. Anyway these people are my favorites.

1. Scorsese (Taxi, Raging, GoodF, King of Comedy...)

2. Lynch (Mulholland, Lost Highway, Blue Velvet.....)

3. Fincher (Fight club, Se7en.....)

4. Tarantino (Pulp, reservoir, kill bill, true romance, grindhouse....)

5. Speilberg(Saving Pvt Ryan, Schindler's List, Munich : Just these three )

6. Ritchie (Snatch, LSTSMB..)

7. Polanski (RB, Tenant, Pianist..)

8. HItchcock (Rear window, Psycho...)

9. Innaritu (AP, Babel, 21)

10. Nolan (Following, Memento..)

11. Miike (Audition, Visitor Q)

12. Kurosawa (Rashomon, 7S...)

And how the hell can I forget

Stanley Kubrick (ALL his movies 2001, SL, ACWO, S being the most favorites :P )

I might have missed some

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Senior Member Senior Hubber kannannn's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Let me pick mine from the list and add some more:

Kubrick

Kurosawa

Scorsese (enough has been said about all three)

Tarantino (Easily the best at present. There is just so much waiting to be explored in Quentin's movies. Single-handedly brought respect to Indie movies. Made the big studios kneel before him. Never compromises on film-making ethics )

Miike (The sheer number of his movies baffles me. And he has something up his sleeve everytime. The master of all genres. )

Hitchcock (what can I say? The master of mystery, interlaced with humour)

Tarkovsky (The man is a genius. In a class of his own)

Krzysztof (If only he had lived longer!!)

Haneke (Deeply embedded messages that make you think. Not easy to watch though)

Fassbinder (Hard-hitting movies. The best German director according to me)

Kinji Fukasaku (Another important director of Modern Japan)

And of course our own Satyajit Ray and Adoor Gopalakrishnan.
    "Why do we need filmmaking equipment?"