Thread: Food for diabetics .............

Junior Member Admin HubberNewbie HubberTeam HubberModerator HubberPro Hubber
    Post Thanks / Like

Food for diabetics .............

I havent been to forum for couple of yeras. I saw this topic in old forum but couldnt post it . Not inclined to start a new topic but may be it could be useful ......

Remember though as a starting post it reads a bit odd but try

There is changed perception about diabetic food with the idea of Glycemic Index. Without complicating this too much (I can write something in response if needed- mind you I am NOT a doctor) I may add a few comments

Starch does not behave in a static way. The size and integrity of the grains etc and methods of cooking have a part to play. Also fibre in food combination helps slow down release of sugar to blood

By experience

1. Coarse Semolina (uppuma)
    2. Rava idly (without rice flour) Semolina & ulundhu fermented with youghurt
    3. Pasta (semolina based)

4. Soak oats (not quick cooking - they have been pulverised & precooked yielding sugar fast) oat bran wheat germ in youghurt overnight add nuts and raisins no sugar. Have in the morning.

5. Wholemeal bread is as BAD as white bread. Multigrain bread may be better. But PITA BREAD WHOLE MEAL is good. This is due to nature of baking.

6. Kurakkan (Tamil) (ragi- Hindi?) as pittu (ragi flour makes strong pellets slows release)

7. Basmati rice is OK. Method of cooking matters. Absorbtion method is best (Just enough water). It does something to the texture.

8. Fenugreek (Vendhayam I Tab Spoon) before meals. (This also enlarges breasts! even in males!! suppose to be good for breast feeding mothers)

9. Gynema sylvester (Sirukurinja leaves). This is trusted method in Jaffna. Multi million $ business here. Excellent. It is edible leaves so no toxicity.

I dont want to overload but depends on your response

Cyber Payanee

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber
    Post Thanks / Like