PDA

View Full Version : Quo Vadis, Whither are You going ? - NEMESIS and NEETU (End)

ramky
11th August 2006, 03:10 AM
This is my first attempt at serious story writing, so there are bound to be some flaws & inconsistencies. Kindly bear with those, and pm me about them.

QUO VADIS - WHITHER ARE YOU GOING ?

Jagannathan was sitting on the cement bench at the bus stop by the side of the main road, watching the meandering traffic pass by, through the narrow, so called Main road of the town. The traffic consisted mainly of tractors, bullock carts, mopeds - and an occassional town bus, stopping just long enough to disgorge its share of travellers and inhabitants belonging to the area.

Compared to these villagers & townpeople, Jagannathan's attire was not much different - a white dhothi, a cotton shirt, and a towel over his shoulder, substituting for the traditional angavasthram. But instead of slippers, he was wearing leather slip ons with buckles. These used to be called Quo Vadis when sold by a popular Indian shoe maker quite some years ago. While shielding his face from the dust cloud raised by passing lorry, he looked down at his slipons and immediately realised the incongruity of their presence, in relation to the surroundings and the footwear of others standing or lounging nearby at the bus stop.

For that matter, he himself was out of place in these surroundings. Just a changeover to modern clothes and he would be ready to board the flight back to the US. Ofcourse, there he was called Jacky and not Jagannathan. And he need not ( would not ) wait for an hour to board a creaky bus just to take him to the next town 50 miles away. He would take his car and go wherever he wanted to. whever he wanted to ...
There lies the million dollar question - where does he want to go now ? both literally speaking as well as figuratively.

Where are you going now Jacky ? his heart seems to querry... most turning points in his life were associated with this question.