PDA

View Full Version : How is tamil immortal

mahadevan
11th October 2005, 06:23 AM
In human history many languages have come and gone, some were long living than the others. Tamil looks like one long living language. Most of its ancient contemporaries are dead languages now. How is Tamil vibrant for milineums ?

abbydoss1969
21st October 2005, 07:28 PM
Well, I'm an not an expert on tamil, but the ancient tamil is really dead, isn't? What we speak is derivative of that tamil quite unrelated to it! :wink:

aravindhan
21st October 2005, 07:55 PM
Well, I'm an not an expert on tamil, but the ancient tamil is really dead, isn't? What we speak is derivative of that tamil quite unrelated to it! :wink:
Most certainly not.

The distance between the Tamil of a thousand years ago and modern Tamil is approximately that between Shakespearean and modern English. 10th and 12th century poems such as the Kamba Ramayanam and the magnificent Kalingathu Parani actually present fewer problems of comprehension for persons educated in Tamil than Shakespeare does for persons educated in English.

The distance between classical Tamil of the Sangam period and modern Tamil is less than that between the English of Chaucer's time and modern English. The changes in the poetic metaphor and the conventions on prosody since the Sangam period present bigger obstacles than the change in the language.

mahadevan
21st October 2005, 09:08 PM
That is why Tamil is declared as a classical language and not specifically sangam/ancient Tamil. The relative ease with which we can understand ancient works in tamil with the knowledge of todays tamil, has earned Tamil the sobriquet 'Kanni Tamil'

Uthappam
8th November 2005, 12:01 AM
ha. mahadevan. Tamil is immortal because of you and me. Keep it going man!

mahadevan
8th November 2005, 06:50 AM
Hi Uthappam :-) you are doing a great job man

rajraj
8th November 2005, 07:35 AM