PDA

View Full Version : Delicious Dals

truebluemoon
3rd March 2005, 11:19 AM
Inspired by the contributions of so many people on this forum, I decided to do some work too and thus this thread.
I have been interested in cooking ever since I was 11. (My mom is a moody cook and that helped a lot :lol: ) I started learning the complicated dishes like gobi manchurian, stuffed capsicum etc just out of curiosity. In the process I have been collecting vegetarian and egg recipes for about 15 yrs now.....from tv shows, from cook books, from newspaper and magazine cut-outs and some by experimenting myself.
I will start to post all the dal recipes in my collection on this thread. There may be about 20-25 of them

Lets see how it goes.

Feed back from readers is appreciated.

truebluemoon
3rd March 2005, 11:22 AM
A very simple dal that can be served along with dinner with some vegetable side. The cooking procedure is fairly simple

JEERA DAL

Prep time: 45 mins Start to finish: 3 hrs

Makes 3-4 servings

1/3 cup masoor dal
1/3 cup toor dal
2 medium sized onions, sliced lengthwise
2 medium sized tomatoes, sliced lengthwise (remove pulp before slicing)
1 tsp cumin seeds;
1 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 tsp sugar(optional)
6 flakes of garlic, crushed and chopped
3-4 green chillies, finely chopped
a few sprigs of curry leaves
salt to taste
1 tbsp oil/butter

1. Wash and soak the dals atleast for 2 hrs. Cook with lots of water. It should be of a consistency not too thin or not too thick

2. Heat oil in a pan and season with cummin seeds. Add green chillies and garlic. Stir fry for a few seconds on medium heat.

3. Add onions, salt and sugar. Fry till onion turns light brown. Add turmeric powder and the cooked dal.

4. Stir well and simmer on low heat. Add the tomatoes, curry leaves and coriander leaves. Simmer for 5 mins

5. Serve hot with roti or rice

TIP :

Instead of throwing away the tomato pulp, you could save it and use if for rasam or to whip up some quick tomato "gojju".